Home » Uncategorized » On Feminism; or, No, I Do NOT Hate Men

On Feminism; or, No, I Do NOT Hate Men

I’m a feminist, which does not mean I hate men.

It means I believe in equality for men and women and everyone in-between.

It means I think women should have the right to do what they want without getting judged or told they are wrong. Wanna be a mom and a housewife? Cool, you can do that. Wanna be a corporate lawyer? Cool, go do it. Wanna be a crazy cat lady? Bring on the kitties.

Being a feminist also means I believe our society needs a radical change in the way we look at gender and at women.

I think we need to get rid of the words “slut” and “whore.”

I think we need to stop victim-blaming.

I think we need to stop protecting rapists.

I think we need to start respecting women no matter what they wear.

I think the government needs to get out of my uterus.

I think we need more women speaking on behalf of women. I think middle-aged, upper-middle-class men need to stop pretending they know anything about being a woman.

I think it needs to stop being okay for people to shame women just for being women.

I think it needs to stop being okay for men to yell at me when I walk down the street just because I’m female.

I think it needs to stop being okay for men to do whatever they want with whoever they want, but shame women when they do the same thing.The first time I heard the “key and lock” analogy, I was so disgusted that I nearly vomited.

Being a feminist does not mean I hate men. It means I hate being treated like a lesser being. It means I hate inequality and disrespect and misogyny. It means I hate sexism.

It means I hate when people are surprised that I’m intelligent because I am also blonde.

It means I hate getting told that if I get sexually assaulted, it’s my fault.

It means I hate that my worth as a human is based on my appearance, my clothes, my sexuality.

It means I hate being told that I have to look like this, dress like this, be this– when all of the “this-es” are mutually incompatible.

It means I hate that pre-teens have eating disorders.

It means I hate that our society sexualizes young girls, teaches them that their self-worth is bound in what men think/want.

It means I am angry.

It means I want change, because I am a smart, talented, and educated woman, and dammit, I deserve just as much respect as anyone else in the world.

This is why I am a feminist.

5 thoughts on “On Feminism; or, No, I Do NOT Hate Men

  1. I love blog posts like this that address common misconceptions about Feminism.
    I think words like ‘slut’ and ‘whore’ are so harmful (I’ve just written a blog post about it, actually!) because they’re aimed at women, and specifically at female sexuality, without there really being any male equivalents. What kind of message is that sending out about the worth of female sexuality?

      • I love finding other people on here who are in the same sort of place as me – I find the idea of following a blog from the beginning quite exciting. Can’t wait to see how yours develops!

  2. Absolutely love!

    It bothers me that people think being a feminism means they dislike men or want to be a man. That is clearly not true and the only way to get that message across to others is for those who believe it to express it.

Leave a Reply

